Mar 30, 2020  
Catalogue 2018-2019 
Catalogue 2018-2019 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Computer Science Department

Chair: Marc L. Smith, fall semester, Luke Hunsbergera, spring semester;

Professor: Luke Hunsbergera, Nancy M. Ide, Jennifer Walter;

Associate Professors: Thomas Ellman,  Marc L. Smith; 

Assistant Professor: Rui Manuel Pacheco Meireles, Jason Waterman;

Visiting Assistant Professor: Jonathan Gordon, Simon Ellis, Sameer Pradhan.

a on leave 2018/19, first semester

Advanced Placement: Students eligible for Advanced Placement may be able to bypass CMPU 101  or CMPU 102  with permission of the department. A bypassed course cannot be counted toward the 13-unit requirement for the Computer Science concentration or the 6-unit requirement for the Computer Science correlate.

Departmental Honors : A 3.6 GPA overall; and 3.8 GPA in all 200-level and 300-level courses in the major; or  distinction in a CMPU Senior Thesis; or nomination by CMPU faculty.

Non-Majors: Students majoring in the sciences are advised to complete CMPU 101 , CMPU 102 , and CMPU 145 , or to complete a correlate sequence in Computer Science.



Correlate Sequence in Computer Science


Computer Science: I. Introductory

Computer Science: II. Intermediate

Computer Science: III. Advanced

Two units of 200-level computer science are prerequisite for entry into 300-level courses; see each course for specific courses required or exceptions.