Mar 20, 2018  
Catalogue 2017-2018 
Catalogue 2017-2018

Media Studies Program

Director: Heesok Chang;

Steering Committee: Peter Antelyes (English), Lisa Brawleyb (Urban Studies), Heesok Chang (English), Colleen Ballerino Cohen (Anthropology), Robert DeMaria (English), Wenwei Du (Chinese and Japanese), Thomas Ellman (Computer Science), Dara N. Greenwood (Psychology), William Hoynes (Sociology), M. Mark (English), Molly Nesbit (Art), Ronald Patkus (Library), Thomas Porcello (Anthropology), Cindy Schwarz (Physics and Astronomy), Shane Slattery-Quintanilla (Film), Eva Woods Peiró (Hispanic Studies);

Participating Faculty: Peter Antelyes (English), David T. Bradley (Physics and Astronomy), Lisa Brawleyb (Urban Studies), Paulina Bren (International Studies), Heesok Chang (English), Colleen Ballerino Cohen (Anthropology), Lisa Gail Collinsa (Art), Robert DeMaria (English), Hiromi Tsuchiya Dollase (Chinese and Japanese), Wenwei Du (Chinese and Japanese), Eve Dunbar (English), Thomas Ellman (Computer Science), Dara N. Greenwood (Psychology), William Hoynes (Sociology), Hua Hsu (English), Michael Joyce (English), Dorothy Kim (English), Sarah R. Kozloff (Film), Amitava Kumar (English), Judith Linn (Art), Brian R. Mann (Music), M. Mark (English), Mia Maskb (Film), Molly Nesbit (Art), Leonard Nevarez (Sociology), Ronald Patkus (Library), Hiram Perezb (English), Thomas Porcello (Anthropology), Peipei Qiua (Chinese and Japanese), Karen Robertson (English), Harry Rosemanb (Art), Jeffrey Schneiderab (German Studies), Cindy Schwarz (Physics and Astronomy), Shane Slattery-Quintanilla (Film), Andrew Tallon (Art), David Tavárez (Anthropology), Silke von der Emde (German Studies), Eva Woods Peiró (Hispanic Studies).

a On leave 2017/18, first semester

b On leave 2017/18, second semester
ab On leave 2017/18

The Media Studies Program encourages the understanding and critical evaluation of new and old media technologies, the centrality of media in global and local culture, social life, politics and economics, and the contemporary and historical impact of media on individuals and societies. As defined by the Program, “media” includes all forms of representational media (oral/aural, written, visual), mass media (print, television, radio, film), new media (digital multimedia, the Internet, networked media), their associated technologies, and the social and cultural institutions that enable them and are defined by them.

The Program emphasizes several interrelated approaches to the study of media: multidisciplinary perspectives derived from the arts, humanities, social and natural sciences; the historical study of various forms of communication and the representation of knowledge; theoretical and critical investigation of how media shape our understandings of reality, and the dynamic interrelationship of media industries, cultural texts, communication technologies, policies, and publics; examination of global, as well as non-Western, indigenous, and oppositional media forms and practices; and practical work in media production and the use of media technologies.

Because the Media Studies concentration incorporates courses originating within the program as well as a wide range of courses from other programs and departments, students wishing to concentrate in Media Studies should consult with the Program Director as early as possible to design their course of study in consultation with a faculty adviser who will be drawn from the Program Steering Committee. Prospective majors will submit a “focus statement” outlining their interests, objectives, the proposed course of study, and a tentative senior project. The proposed course of study should be rigorous, well-integrated, and feasible in the context of the College curriculum. Focus statements should identify specific courses and provide a narrative explaining the linkages across departments/programs and curricular levels among the proposed courses, as well as their relevance for the proposed senior project. Focus statements will be evaluated by the Program Director, in consultation with the Program Steering Committee.

As the Steering Committee occasionally requests revisions of focus statements in consultation with the prospective major adviser and the program director, students who plan to spend one or both semesters of their Junior year studying abroad should submit their focus statement no later than the Friday following October break of their sophomore year. Students who intend to take courses at another domestic institution during their junior year should submit their focus statements no later than the Friday of the first week of classes of the spring semester of their sophomore year. All other students should submit their focus statements no later than March 1 of their sophomore year.

Advisers: Students will consult with the program director to select an adviser from the steering committee or participating faculty.




Media Studies: I. Introductory

Media Studies: II. Intermediate

Media Studies: III. Advanced